The 2024 Whitney Art Party

The Whitney Museum of American Art’s annual Art Party returns on Tuesday, January 30, 2024, with indie pop duo MGMT DJ’ing the event.

Hosted by the Museum’s Whitney Contemporaries membership group, Art Party is a celebrated cornerstone of New York’s arts and philanthropy calendar. Young patrons, emerging artists, and guests from the worlds of art, fashion, business, philanthropy, and entertainment are invited for a botanical-themed evening of cocktails, music, exclusive exhibition viewing, and more.

Whitney Contemporaries Edward Barsamian, Steven Beltrani, and Micaela Erlanger will co-chair the 2024 Whitney Art Party. Artists Natalie Ball and Kambui Olujimi will also serve as co-chairs. Alexander Hankin will serve as the benefit committee chair.

From 9 pm to 12:30 am, guests are welcome to enjoy a botanical-themed evening of dancing, craft cocktails and signature mocktails, and exclusive access to the museum’s galleries.

Guests will also enjoy a special first look at Harold Cohen: AARON, which explores the foundational stages of AI in artmaking, before the exhibition opens to the public.



Drinks, music, and dancing will take place on the ground floor in the Kenneth C. Griffin Hall with sipping tequila provided by Casa Dragones

. Samantha Urbani will DJ an opening set, followed by MGMT from 9:30 pm to 12:30 am.

The evening is made possible by Aesop and Cynthia Rowley. The cascading fresh floral arrangements are beautifully designed by female-founded creative agency East Olivia.

Proceeds from the Art Party provide critical support to the Whitney’s renowned Independent Study Program (ISP). Founded in 1968, ISP is one of the country’s leading postgraduate programs in studio art, curatorial studies, and critical studies. The program furthers the Whitney’s mission to support living artists throughout their careers.


Tuesday, January 30, 2024 9 pm–12:30 am


Whitney Museum of American Art 99 Gansevoort Street
New York, NY 10014


Art Party is hosted by the Whitney Contemporaries, a group of young leaders and arts patrons who play an active role in fulfilling the Whitney’s critical mission to support American art.


Alexander Hankin


Samantha Brand, Drew Butler, Adam Fields, Leah Glimcher, Flora Irving, Molly Krause, Ashley Longshore, Sydney Sadick, Catherine Smith Licari


Ephraim Asili, Peter Burr, Jack James Busa (The Muses), Family Style, Lola Flash, Marty Harper, Mary Manning, Rachel Rossin, Clarissa Tossin, Devon Walker, Daniel Walters (The Muses)


Micaela Erlanger, Adam Fields

Trustee Liaison

Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo

Executive Committee

Fred Baba, Michael Carl, Jessica Gersh, Alexander Hankin, Molly Krause, Beth Kurteson, Suzanna Lee, Heather Ripley, Nikhil Shah, Catherine Smith Licari

Related Articles