De La Ghetto releases highly anticipated album #LosChulitos @DeLaGhettoReal

De La Ghetto, considered a true legend and pioneer of Reggaeton, considers himself a “Chulito” — something that he defines as a lifestyle.

One where you feel, look, and project confidence to those around you, and more importantly, within yourself. Following this principle, he formed his own ‘Chuligang,’ where he invites his friends, also considered “Chulitos,” to collaborate with and release a new project entitled “LOS CHULITOS.” This new album, a predominantly collaborative project, is now available on all digital platforms.

“LOS CHULITOS,” which has three singles and a remix that have been successfully released, contains 19 songs. The first was, “Selfie,” dropped in August 2019, reached 17M views on YouTube, 6.31M on Spotify, and 2.8M on other platforms (Apple, Deezer, etc.). Two months later “Feka” arrived, accruing 9.5M views on YouTube and 4.08M on Spotify. De La Ghetto kicked 2020 of with the release of “Selfie Remix” with Zion & Lennox, Jhay Cortez, and Miky Woodz and continued with the release of “El Que Se Enamora Pierde” with Darell, which garnered more than 18 million views on YouTube.

The album comes accompanied by a new sensual reggaeton single titled “Sube La Music” alongside Nicky Jam. The track pulls inspiration from the sensual old-school reggae song “No Holding Back” by Wayne Wonder released in 2002. The song encapsulates everything De La Ghetto is known for and will make everyone dance. The track follows the theme of how when a man is fully in love, he will ensure that his love interest feels very special, especially in moments of intimacy. “Sube La Music” premiered alongside its music video, which was produced by WildHouse Pictures.

In the video, which features the use of colorful imagery and intimate scenes, we see De La Ghetto and Nicky Jam narrating a storyline that covers both romantic love and platonic love shared between friends. In the cutaway scenes, we see a group of women enjoying a girls’ night in, while in another scene three friends spend a night sharing jokes and laughing. The video also expertly portrays the intimacy shared between couples in moments of solitude.

For the album cover and art aesthetic De La Ghetto collaborated with Carlos A. Rivera, known as “Carlitos Skills” — he is a renowned Puerto Rican visual artist known for his colorful approach, recently added tattoo artist to his resume, and is mostly known as a muralist — one of his most well known murals is called “Vaiven” in Miami, which he did for Art Basel. Together, they created a digital teaser campaign where he worked on actual canvas as the medium first, before transitioning the art to digital, an impressive undertaking nowadays.

Thanks to his bilingual upbringing and the influences of several predominant musical styles in North American culture — such as Rap, Hip-Hop, Rock, and Funk — De La Ghetto has established himself as the king of R&B and Hip Hop in Spanish. Throughout the years, he has proven his great versatility by fusing these influences with his Latin music, managing to implant new styles when interpreting Reggaetón (in its varied forms) and Trap (musical style from South Atlanta, very fashionable among young Hispanics). The artist has enjoyed great support in his music videos with more than 800 million views on his YouTube channel with videos such as “Fronteamos Porque Podemos”, “Dices” and “La Ocasión.” De La Ghetto continues to make his way within the Latin market, and with “LOS CHULITOS,” he is ready to establish himself in the international market as a legend of Latin music.

1. Chuligang
2. Perdida
3. El Volante featuring Dalex
4. El Que Se Enamora Pierde featuring Darell
5. Sigue Tu Camino featuring Manuel Turizo
6. Cuando Será
7. Sube La Music featuring Nicky Jam
8. Me Acostumbraré featuring Arcángel
9. Me Parece featuring Farruko
10. Lo Que Me Falta
11. Suave Rico featuring Rauw Alejandro
12. Sin Maquillaje featuring Justin Quiles, Lenny Tavarez
13. FEKA featuring El Alfa, Miky Woodz
14. Tokyo featuring Myke Towers
15. Bienvenido al Bellakeo featuring Jowell & Randy
16. Sin Perse (Arcangel, Cosculluela, Ñengo Flow)
17. Yo Pago Por Tó
18. Selfie

Related Articles